Math class is stupid and boring

…but it doesn’t have to be. Scroll down to my last thesis update. See those nice pictures? Do you like them? Are they pretty?  That’s what math is all about: neat ideas, pretty pictures.

I just read a really good article. Here is an excerpt:

…if I had to design a mechanism for the express purpose of destroying a child’s natural curiosity and love of pattern-making, I couldn’t possibly do as good a job as is currently being done— I simply wouldn’t have the imagination to come up with the kind of senseless, soulcrushing ideas that constitute contemporary mathematics education.

Check out the article. I really liked it:

Lockhart’s Lament

To be fair to Keith Devlin I should say that it was from his article that I found Lockhart’s Lament:

Devlin’s Angle

This entry was posted in math. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Math class is stupid and boring

  1. Evelyn says:

    Wow, that was a great article. I thought the analogies to music and painting were perfect, and it gives me a lot to think about as a teacher.

  2. Pingback: Pop Math « Synchronicity

Leave a Reply

