Building a Computer 1101: Signal Split

I had an idea for a marble implementation of the signal split. It is very closely related to Wandel’s toggle. I ran the idea by my nine-year-old, then showed him the basics of Inkscape and let him do the drawing. Here is what he came up with. I think this is very close to what we will end up using, but of course we haven’t actually built it yet…

The funny thing about the signal split is it’s simple electronically: just solder a couple of wires together and you’re good. This video that I found on youtube shows a simple marble implementation of a signal split…
…but we need something that is self-resetting. I think what we’ve designed here fits the bill. Building and testing to come…

This entry was posted in computers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Building a Computer 1101: Signal Split

  1. Pingback: Building a Computer 1111: Video of our Signal-Split Prototype « MATH with my KIDS

Leave a Reply

